

of Transportation

Federal Transit Administration Federal Highway Administration Region V 200 West Adams St., Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5253

Indiana Division 575 N. Pennsylvania St., Rm 254 Indianapolis, IN 46204-1576

January 27, 2023

Roy Nunnally, Director **Asset Management Division** Indiana Department of Transportation 100 N Senate Ave. N925 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Dear Mr. Nunnally:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed our review of the documents necessary to make an air quality conformity finding for the Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Organization's (IMPO) planning documents. The Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Area is within the 9-county Indianapolis air quality conformity area and is comprised of Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby Counties. The need for this new conformity finding stems from a recent amendment to the FY2022-2025 IMPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) (Quarter 4S, December 2022 Amendment).

Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby Counties are designated as Maintenance for the 1997 Ozone Standard until October 19, 2027.

Appropriate consultation and public involvement on the TIP amendment was completed. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and the US Environmental Protection Agency have completed their reviews and have determined that air quality conformity requirements have been met.

Therefore, FHWA and FTA affirms the following planning documents conform to air quality conformity rule requirements:

Indianapolis MPO 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (Amendment 2) Indianapolis MPO 2022-2025 TIP (including the Quarter 4S Amendment dated December 7, 2022)

This conformity determination letter supersedes all previous conformity determination letters for this MPO. Conformity determination letters issued for amended MTPs (i.e., MTPs that have not been updated in accordance with the requirements outlined in 23 CFR 450.324) do not restart the conformity clock for those documents.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Erica Tait, FHWA, at 317-226-7481 or erica.tait@dot.gov; or Cecilia C. Godfrey, FTA, at 312-705-1268 or cecilia.crenshaw@dot.gov.

Sincerely,

KELLEY

Digitally signed by KELLEY BROOKINS BROOKINS Date: 2023.01.26 08:16:28 -06'00'

Kelley Brookins

Regional Administrator

FTA Region V

cc: (transmitted by e-mail) Anna Gremling, IMPO Kristyn Sanchez, IMPO Jen Higginbotham, IMPO Brandon Burgoa, INDOT Jay Mitchell, INDOT Cecilia Crenshaw, FTA Jason Ciavarella, FTA Tony Maietta, EPA Shawn Seals, IDEM

Sincerely,

Jermaine R. Hannon Division Administrator FHWA Indiana Division