

U.S. Department of Transportation

Federal Transit Administration Federal Highway Administration Region V 200 West Adams St., Suite 320 Chicago, IL 60606-5253

Indiana Division 575 N. Pennsylvania St., Rm 254 Indianapolis, IN 46204-1576

January 24, 2022

Roy Nunnally, Director Asset Management Division Indiana Department of Transportation 100 N Senate Ave. N925 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Dear Mr. Nunnally:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed our review of the documents necessary to make an air quality conformity finding for the Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Organization's (IMPO) planning documents. The Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Area is within the 9-county Indianapolis air quality conformity area and is comprised of Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby Counties. The need for this new conformity finding stems from an update to the IMPO Metropolitan Transportation Plan (2050 MTP), and the 4th Quarter 2021 amendment to the FY2020-2023 IMPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).

Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby Counties are designated as Maintenance for the 1997 Ozone Standard until October 19, 2027.

Appropriate consultation and public involvement on the MTP update and TIP amendment were completed. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management, the Indiana Department of Transportation, and the US Environmental Protection Agency have completed their reviews and have determined that air quality conformity requirements have been met.

This conformity finding supersedes all previous conformity findings for this MPO. Therefore, FHWA and FTA affirms the following planning documents conform to air quality conformity rule requirements:

Indianapolis MPO 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (original) Indianapolis MPO 2020-2023 TIP (including 4th Quarter 2021 Amendment) Indianapolis MPO 2022-2025 TIP (original)

Please note that the 2022-2025 TIP is not incorporated into INDOT's current Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP), therefore, the 2020-2023 TIP is the only TIP officially recognized by FHWA and FTA.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Erica Tait, FHWA, at 317-226-7481 or <u>erica.tait@dot.gov</u>; or Cecilia Crenshaw-Godfrey, FTA, at 312-705-1268 or <u>cecilia.crenshaw@dot.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

KELLEY BROOKINS BROOKINS BROOKINS Date: 2022.01.21 11:39:35 -06'00' Kelley Brookins Regional Administrator FTA Region V Sincerely,

Jermaine R. Hannon Division Administrator FHWA Indiana Division

cc: (transmitted by e-mail) Anna Gremling, IMPO Kristyn Sanchez, IMPO Jen Higginbotham, IMPO Brandon Burgoa, INDOT Jay Mitchell, INDOT Cecilia Crenshaw-Godfrey, FTA Jason Ciavarella, FTA Tony Maietta, EPA Shawn Seals, IDEM